Shortlist announced for industry excellence awards

The Meetings Industry Association (mia) has announced this year’s shortlist for the prestigious miaList awards.
This year, the mia received a huge amount of nominations, the greatest since the miaList was conceived in 2011.
Jane Longhurst, chief executive of the mia, says, "I'm delighted by the great influx and quality of nominations received. The fact that so many people have taken the time to nominate a colleague for all of the hard work they do, shows real passion, commitment and dedication from the industry as a whole.

“The miaList is a celebration of the good people who work tirelessly to raise standards and inspire those around them. We want to recognise those individuals who make a real difference to people’s lives through their enthusiasm and hard work.”

The shortlisted nominees are:
• Toni Mountford, Alton Towers Resort
• Rachael Cotton, Alton Towers Resort
• Lauren Manning, Aztec Hotel and Spa
• Scott Oldroyd, Bagden Hall Country House
• Georgia Toppin, Barbican Centre
• Tom Gore, The Brewery by ECO Ltd
• Rebecca Hurley, British Medical Association
• Lucy Harper, Brockencote Hall Hotel
• Aideen Lucey, Cavendish Conference Centre
• Maria Schuett, Central Hall, Westminster
• Naomi Phillips, Classic Lodges Hotels
• Olivier Nanchi, Engineers House
• Hollie Dann, Foresight Centre – University of Liverpool
• Kim Upsher, Holiday Inn, Maidenhead
• Simon Timmis, IET – Head Office  
• Wayne Hewitt, Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
• Gemma Gore, Leeds Beckett University
• Clive Williams, Leicester Conferences, University of Leicester
• Martin Miller, Leicester Conferences
• Melissa Gillings, Lensbury
• Martina Frick, Lensbury
• Julia Simpson, Lime Venue Portfolio
• Gemma Ellis, Liverpool Hope University
• Paul Foster, Mallory Court Hotel
• Sam Gryckiewicz, Moor Hall Conference Centre
• Alexandra Ellis, Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
• Angela Perkins, Ricoh Arena
• Kevin Beckett, Robinson College, Cambridge
• Alessio Romani, Sadler’s Wells
• Alice Navein, The Arden Hotel
• Rekha Lyons, The Belfry
• Amelia Ghazala, The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa
• Rob Brumell, Twickenham Experience LTD
• Louise Dormer, Twickenham Experience LTD
• Craig Fraser, Whittlebury Hall Conference, Training Centre, Hotel and Spa
• Marie Hardy, Whittlebury Hall Conference, Training Centre, Hotel and Spa
• Davide Graziano, Wyboston Lakes Conference and Training Centre

Nominations are judged against an extensive judging criteria resulting in the climactic annual celebratory lunch where the miaList winners are announced. This year’s lunch takes place on the 28th of September at the spectacular 4-star Park Plaza Riverbank London hotel.

The miaList awards welcomed nominations for people in the following categories: Conference, Food and Beverage, Front of House, Sales and Marketing, Support People and Housekeeping as well as this year’s newly launched special awards: Leadership Award, Rising Star Award, Innovation Award and Team of the Year Award. Nominations for the Leadership and Team of the Year awards will go to an online vote and the shortlist will be announced at a later date.