New categories for Hotel Marketing Association Awards launched

Hotel Marketing Association Awards previous winners
Entries for the 24th annual Hotel Marketing Association Awards have opened.  The Hotel Marketing Association Awards recognise and reward those who champion the marketing function within the sector and its vital role in the growth of hotels.

For 2018, four new categories have been introduced.  These new categories are segment driven and reflect the evolution of the marketing industry where budgets are now more focused on ROI and campaigns tailored to a target market.  Entrants don’t need to be a member of the HMA, and the awards are free to enter. 

The deadline for entries is 18 January 2019. The new categories being launched are:
• Best Weddings Marketing
• Best Meetings & Events Marketing
• Best Restaurant and/or Bar Marketing
• Best Leisure Marketing (including Spa and Golf Marketing)

The recognition and development of talent in hotel marketing is key to the success of businesses, therefore, the following award categories will continue:
• Young Marketer of the Year
• Agency Young Marketer of the Year
• Best Partnership Marketing

Pamela Carvell, Life President of the Hotel Marketing Association said, “We are thrilled to be announcing the transformed Hotel Marketing Association Awards.  While the awards have always been incredibly well supported with entries growing year on year, we felt it was imperative that the awards evolved with the industry and remained current.  In recent years we saw a growing number of segment-specific entries in the more general categories, so it felt instinctive to focus on these areas.  We are proud that the awards now closely reflect the current activity in marketing within hotels and we look forward to receiving a wealth of creative entries.”

The transformed awards have also attracted new sponsors with LAW Creative sponsoring the Young Marketer of the Year Award and Noetic sponsoring Best Leisure Marketing. Returning sponsors include Cvent, IM London and Hoteltime.

Following the success of last year’s ceremony with 150 hotel industry and agency marketers in attendance, the winners of the 2018 Hotel Marketing Association Award’s will be announced in March in Central London.  

This year’s winners will join an esteemed line-up of previous individual winners including Tom Driscoll, previously from Gough Hotels, Stephen Moran of InterContinental London Park Lane and Harry Fielder of Umi Digital as well as hotels - Rudding Park, The Feversham Arms Hotel and Hilton Worldwide and agencies – LAW Creative and Fat Media.

Pin It

Related Articles