2018 Independent Hotel Show Awards shortlists revealed

Judges for the Independent Hotel Show Awards in association with Sky, have revealed the shortlists for the 2018 Independent Hotelier of the Year and Outstanding New Hotel awards.
The Independent Hotelier of the Year Award recognises the passion of an independent, spirited hotelier who has made a significant contribution to the industry over the past year.

The individual will have a reputation for pushing boundaries, creating exceptional guest experiences and driving the luxury boutique hotel sector forwards with creativity and wisdom, as well as being committed to developing their team.
The shortlist:
• Peter Banks

Peter Banks was a management trainee at The Savoy and subsequently worked at St Andrew’s Old Course Hotel and the Hilton on Park Lane. In 1996 he moved to Yorkshire to open Rudding Park Hotel and is now managing director of the property voted VisitEngland’s Hotel of the Year 2018.

• Will Ashworth 

Will Ashworth worked within the hospitality industry in Kenya, Switzerland and North America before returning to Cornwall in 2000 to take over the running of the family hotel, Watergate Bay Hotel. Committed to extending his distinctive approach to hospitality, ‘active relaxation’, Will launched the Another Place collection of hotels in 2015. Another Place, The Lake opened in August 2017.

• David and Charlotte Reilly

David and Charlotte Reilly bought Yorebridge House in 2006, renovating the Victorian school buildings into a beautiful boutique hotel/restaurant. A standing start business, the buildings had never been used for hospitality. They achieved AA 5 star/3 rosette status on the first inspection, and have since won numerous awards including Visit England Small Hotel of the Year England 2016.

• Laurence Beere

Laurence Beere started as a management trainee at The Savoy Group. He later joined Cliveden Ltd as general manager of their London Townhouse and went on to be general manager of The Royal Crescent Hotel in Bath before becoming the group’s operations director. For the last 15 years he and his wife Helen have been owners of The Queensberry Hotel and Olive Tree Restaurant in Bath.

• Adam Rowledge

Starting his career at Hotel Du Vin in 2007, Adam quickly reached management level. He has been general manager of Georgian House since 2015. Adam is a Guardian Member of Hospitality Action, Chair of the Sussex Branch of the Institute of Hospitality and a St Julian Scholar.

• Claire Randall

During 19 years at Lucknam Park as general manager and managing director, Claire has brought change, innovation and improved profitability without compromising her passion for service excellence, along with some great staff development success stories. Claire is a St Julian Scholar committee member, is on the board of Pride of Britain Hotels and a Master Innholder.

The Outstanding New Hotel Award celebrates an independent hotel that brings dynamism and coveted ideas to the sector and has been operating for no more than three years. A game-changer with a unique style, the hotel has influenced attitudes within the sector, whilst providing exemplary service and amazing guest experiences, as well as demonstrating remarkable business efficiency.

The shortlist:
• Another Place, The Lake

Set in 18 acres of Lake District national park, Another Place, The Lake is the first in a new hotel collection with a relaxed, active and social ethos.  Right on the shores of Ullswater, the hotel is all about getting outdoors, using the landscape, trying something new, discovering and exploring. Then coming back inside to relax and eat and drink well. The hotel has 40 bedrooms, Swim Club – which includes a swimming pool and treatment rooms – a library and two restaurants.

• Palé Hall

Palé Hall is a luxury country house hotel, a destination for quiet retreat and culinary indulgence featuring 18 individually designed bedrooms and an acclaimed Three Rosette restaurant.  This historic Victorian mansion is situated in the tranquil Dee Valley amidst an idyllic woodland garden rolling down to the banks of the river.

• Artist Residence Oxfordshire

Artist Residence Oxfordshire is an idyllic, award-winning retreat in the heart of the English countryside, providing all the comfort and tranquillity expected of the most romantic boutique hotel of 2018. Here you will find honest, wholesome food and 8 beautiful bedrooms designed in Charlotte and Justin Salisbury’s signature eclectic style.

• Titanic Hotel Belfast

Situated in the heart of the Titanic Quarter, the world's most authentic Titanic hotel. The transformation of the legendary Harland & Wolff headquarters and spectacular Drawing Offices is now complete. This unique hotel offers an unforgettable experience for anyone visiting Northern Ireland on business or for pleasure.

• The Mandrake
Set in the centre of London's West End and inspired by the medicinal properties of the plant after which it is named, The Mandrake combines eclectic, vibrant interiors with carefully curated artwork and intriguing soundscapes. Housing 34 bedrooms, three suites and a penthouse, the exceptional accommodation is set across four floors which rise from the striking central outdoor courtyard.

• Oddfellows on the Park 
Oddfellows On The Park is a hotel with character, charm and a little bit of Odd. Design is important, service is crucial and playfulness is a requirement. Located in Greater Manchester, set within a Victorian mansion; housing 22 bedrooms, restaurant, cocktail bar, event spaces and a ‘salon de beaute’ fondly named The Pigsty.

Established in 2012, the annual awards celebrate hoteliers who have made a significant and game-changing impact in the industry, and hotels that radiate originality and creativity. Winners of this year’s awards will join the influential Hall of Fame, occupied by hoteliers including Jeremy Goring, Paul Bayliss MBE, Kate Levin and Olga Polizzi, and leading properties including Hotel Gotham, The Laslett and No.15 Great Pulteney.

Nominations for both the Independent Hotelier and Outstanding Hotel Awards were welcomed via the Independent Hotel Show’s website with judges shortlisting six nominees for each category.  The winners will be chosen by you, the industry, by voting via the show registration form, and will be announced on Tuesday 16 October at the Independent Hotel Show.

The judges are: • Adam Raphael, Editor, Good Hotel Guide • Charlotte Evans, Group Publishing Director, Condé Nast Johansens • David Noble, Director of Hospitality & Leisure, James Hallam Insurance Brokers, Independent Hotel Show sponsor • Fiona Duncan, The Telegraph & Sunday Telegraph • James Tweddle, Hotel Director, Sky, the Independent Hotel Show Awards partner • Janet Harmer, Hotels Editors, The Caterer • Peter Hancock, Chief Executive, Pride of Britain Hotels • Simon Numphud, Managing Director, AA Hotel & Hospitality Services • Zoe Monk, Editor, Boutique Hotelier

The Independent Hotel Show takes place on 16 and 17 October 2018 at Olympia London.