This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Search ITCM

On The Hobbit trail in Oxford with Four Pillars Hotels

Hobbit fever is about to grip the nation once more with the release of the next instalment of The Hobbit trilogy, The Desolation of Smaug, which hits the big screen on 13th December 2013. Fans of Bilbo and Gandalf can enjoy a great value winter break in Oxford and re-trace the steps of author J.R.R. Tolkien, who wrote The Hobbit whilst living in the city.

Four Pillars Hotels has four hotels in and around Oxford and a stay at the Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel - within walking distance of Oxford city centre - offers breaks from just £49 person per night on a bed and breakfast basis from December through to March 2014.

The Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel, located less than half a mile from the centre of Oxford, is perfectly placed for enjoying a literary exploration of this famous city. Tolkien and his great friend C. S. Lewis - author of The Chronicles of Narnia - were professors, at Pembroke College and Magdalen College respectively.

Visitors can take in sites such as the colleges and 20 Northmoor Road, the home in which Tolkien wrote The Hobbit, along with Tolkien's final resting place at Wolvercote Cemetery and the Eagle and Child pub, regular meeting place of the famous “Inklings” literary group of which Tolkien was a key member.

After a day of exploration, visitors can retreat and relax at the hotel which is set in tranquil parkland. The Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel offers guests over 170 stylish bedrooms and suites, a full-service restaurant and bar, as well as recreational facilities including an indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam-room and gymnasium.

Submit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn