This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Search ITCM

Finalists in Aberdeen City and Shire Tourism Awards announced

The finalists in the inaugural Aberdeen City and Shire Tourism Awards, which aims to shine the spotlight on exceptional tourism businesses in the north east, have been announced. The winners in 12 categories of the awards, which are being organised by Aberdeen City and Shire Hotels’ Association (ACSHA), will be revealed at a ceremony at Aberdeen’s Mercure Ardoe House Hotel on 28 March.

The awards have been set up to recognise operators offering an exceptional service for visitors and to continue to raise standards even further for both leisure and business travellers. Dozens of entries for the awards were received, with applicants ranging from independent suppliers to multinational, corporate brands.

Iain Watson, general manager of the Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen and member of the ACSTA organising committee, says, “The north east has much to offer in the way of tourism. The awards are a new concept, designed to recognise the very best of the region’s tourism operators and to encourage suppliers to keep striving for tourism excellence.

“The awards aim to involve all businesses in the City and Shire’s tourism sector, which contributes £304 million a year to the local economy. We have been overwhelmed by the entries received and the variety of applicants keen to be involved. Both the extent and the calibre of entries received have been immensely impressive.

“It is fantastic to see so many businesses are committed to maintaining the success of the City and Shire’s tourism sector. The judges had a very difficult task in putting together the shortlist, and I’m sure that determining an overall winner will be very tough indeed.”

The finalists are as follows:  
Ambassador of the Year sponsored by Visit Aberdeen - Calum Richardson (The Bay Fish and Chips, Stonehaven); Peter Walker (Meldrum House Hotel, Oldmeldruml); Roger Goodyear (Banffshire Coast Tourism Partnership)

Young Ambassador of the Year sponsored by Ardoe House Hotel and Spa - Alan Clarke (Ardoe House Hotel, Aberdeen); Robyn O’Donoghue (Jurys Inn, Aberdeen)

Hotel of the Year sponsored by Aberdeen International Airport - Hilton Garden Inn, Aberdeen; Meldrum House Hotel, Holiday Inn Aberdeen West

Restaurant of the Year sponsored by Park Inn by Radisson - The Atlantis, Aberdeen;  Blairs at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa; Meldrum House Hotel

Bar/Club of the Year sponsored by Thistle Hotels – Orchid,  Aberdeen; The Albyn, Aberdeen

Visitor Attraction sponsored by Marcliffe Hotel and Spa - Drum Castle;  Grampian Transport Museum; Macduff Marine Aquarium; Deeside Activity Park

Community Award sponsored by Malmaison - Braemar Castle; Park Inn by Radisson Hotel, Aberdeen; Deeside Activity Park

Partnership in Tourism sponsored by Aberdeenshire Council - Banffshire Coast Tourism Partnership; Aberdeen & North East Scotland Ancestral Tourism Partnership; Hilton Treetops and Jobcentre

Customer Service Award sponsored by WorldHost -     Marriott Hotel, Dyce; Skene House Whitehall, Aberdeen; Hilton Garden Inn, Aberdeen

Local Marketing Campaign sponsored by LFI Creative - Banffshire Coast Tourism Partnership;, VisitAberdeen; Ardoe House Hotel and Spa

Green Award sponsored by Marriott Hotel - Mains of Scotstown, Aberdeen; Deeside Activity Park; Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Submit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn